The Archiver custom app allows you to delete/export old data in Kayako. It gives an extension to the Maintenance menu in the admin panel. The additional menu items will provide an option to purge/export the old data for a specific user or a complete database. The custom app will delete records permanently, so it is highly recommended to keep database backups.
You must have an on-premise installation of Kayako Classic with the full access of source code. The code files of this custom app will be placed under the installation folder of Kayako Classic and further, it needs to be installed as a plug-in under the Apps section in the admin panel.
In this article, we will walk you through the steps necessary for installing Archiver custom app under the Kayako Classic installation, on your own server.
Downloading, Unpacking, and Uploading the Product Files
The first part of the installation process is to download the product files from here, extract the Zip file on your server machine where Kayako is installed, and upload them from there to your server:
Further, you will copy the src directory to the __apps directory of Kayako installation, rename the src folder to archiver, navigate to the admin portal (Apps section) in your web browser.
Click on Archiver link and install the plug-in.
Refresh and invalidate your browser's cache, so the new menu items are visible under the Maintenance Menu in the Admin panel.
Purging Old Data
Here you will be allowed to search for tickets created in a specific date period, and if specified, belonging to a particular user.
NOTE: It is a best practice and highly advisable to keep regular database backups.
Leave the email field empty to search tickets belonging to all users. Kayako will show a list of records that you can review before performing any action. The export option will offer you a MySQL dump file and compresses it into a ZIP file to make a compressed low sized file.
It is advisable to export data before using the delete option. After hitting the OK button on the warning dialog box, the task progress window will be displayed.
You can delete all the tickets stored in the Trash by the staff users. Please note that these tickets will not be recovered after the deletion.
After hitting the OK button on the warning dialog box, the task progress window will be displayed.